WhatsApp users may loss access to the app if they don’t accept the new terms of services in 2021

0
30
Source: Facebook

WhatsApp users may suffer the loss of access if they don’t agree to new terms of service. The most liked messaging service will reportedly update its terms of service in the upcoming year, which will take effect from February 8. If WhatsApp users don’t accept the new privacy rules, they could lose access to the Facebook-owned messaging app. WABetaInfo shared a screenshot of the new Terms and Privacy Policy Updates, which clearly states that users can either accept the new terms or ‘delete’ their WhatsApp accounts. The Facebook-owned messaging app confirmed separately that all users must either agree or lose access otherwise.

According to screenshots released by WABetaInfo, the Facebook-owned company’s new policy update will give additional information on how WhatsApp processes its user’s data. It will also speak about how businesses can use Facebook hosted services to keep and manage their WhatsApp chats. “If you don’t agree with the changes, you can delete your WhatsApp account within WhatsApp Settings,” the report reads.

The report records that WhatsApp has launched updates for Android (2.20.206.19) and iOS (2.20.130). The Facebook-owned messaging platform will also launch a new feature that will reportedly help WhatsApp to announce specific information to users within the app but will not involve ads. The in-app announcement feature will be used for purposes like announcing features, news, changes, information, but not ads.

The report also says that these announcements will not be shared in the form of a chat but will appear as an in-app notice that can redirect to external websites.

In a distinct report, WABetainfo noted WhatsApp’s FAQ and notes that the possibility for businesses to choose Facebook where to store messages will be enabled in the year 2021.

“Some businesses will be able to choose WhatsApp’s parent company, Facebook, to securely store messages and respond to customers. While Facebook will not automatically use your messages to inform the ads that you see, businesses will be able to use chats they receive for their marketing purposes, which may include advertising on Facebook,” the FAQ reads.

Anyways, WhatsApp users will be notified if the chat is stored and managed on Facebook. Additionally, WhatsApp notes that the encryption status of an end-to-end encrypted chat cannot change without the change is viewable by the user.

WhatsApp also recently launched a set of new features like a sticker search feature, custom chat wallpapers, more doodle wallpapers, and a feature to set separate wallpapers for normal and dark mode, Disappearing Message, WhatsApp Pay, and Always Mute.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here