Zoom brings end-to-end encryption for all users

0
9
Photo Courtesy: Zoom

Zoom has begun to roll out its new feature which is end-to-end Encryption for both free as well as paid users though  PC, MAC, iOS and Android. This end-to-end encryption feature, as per Zoom will protect the personal and delicate data of the users under which even Zoom itself will not be having the access to the Encryption key apart from the participants of that particular group chat session.

As per the previous report, Zoom declared last month in its blogpost that it will be rolling out an E2EE feature where users will be able to host more than 200 members at a time while the feature remains activated. Moreover, this feature will currently be available as a technical preview for the first 30 days where it will allow users to share their feedback. Thereafter, after the completion of the 30 days period, users will be able to utilise the E2EE feature as usual.

Apart from this, it will not allow the users to use other features like join before host, cloud recording, breakout rooms, polling, 1:1 private chat, live transcription, streaming and meeting reactions once this feature is activated on the Zoom app.

Hosts can activate this setting at account, group or user level whereas all the participants must be having this feature enabled on their devices. For this, users will be able to activate E2EE meetings at account level and can also choose it for per meeting basis.

Here’s how you can enable End-to-End Encryption feature:

Step 1: Sign into your device’s Zoom app.

Step 2: Now move towards the navigation panel and click on Settings option.

Step 3: Then, click on Meeting option.

Step 4: Under Security, check if End-to-End Encryption is enabled.

Step 5: If in case, the feature is disabled then click on Enable option and then, click at Turn On option to verify change.

Step 6: After that, choose the default encryption type and click on Save option.


To be noted: Sometimes you might experience the option of Encryption has been locked at group or account level. In that case, users need to contact the Zoom admin to enable the feature.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here